by Alexandra Rutkowski

This past summer, a pastor in Austria asked me this question: “If money wasn’t an option and you knew you couldn’t fail, what would you do?”

It got me thinking about the future. Actually, right about now, everything‘s got me thinking about the future. Graduation is months away, the semester’s wrapping up, it seems like everyone either has a job or a direction that they’re going in, and here’s Alexandra, who still hasn’t got a clue of what she’s going to be doing five months from now. I’ve thought about art and teaching and speaking and about a million other possibilities… and it just got me asking myself… if I could have anythinganything at all in the whole, wide world, what would it be? If I could have just one thing in this lifetime, what would I ask for?

I just want to know You.

I really don’t care if it sounds cliché. This is the cry of my heart. I want to know You more. Deeper. Deeper. And deeper still. I want an ever-increasing, overflowing love for walking in the Spirit. To walk in step with Him. To move where He moves, come as He calls, go as He sends. This desire, it eclipses all the others. It’s stronger, richer, and just more real than anything my heart has ever longed for.

I want to know You and make You known.

That about sums it up! In the end, when I dream about the future, it all just comes back this.

 

A while back, I wrote about the phrase “walking with God,” and since then, it’s got a habit of finding its way back into my mind. I could go on and on about it, but since I already have, I won’t, haha. If you’ve met me, you know it’s far too easy for me to start rambling. (So, to make things as painless as possible, it can be can be found here!) All I know is that I just want to know Him and faithfully walk with Him until my dying breath.

No matter what I end up doing in life, this is what I dream of.

