by Alexandra Rutkowski

This past week, wow. I was really blessed to be able to  learn about ministering to Muslim women from an incredible woman of God, a missionary to Pakistan for almost a decade. It was a long class, long hours each day, but oh how I didn’t want it to end. Having time to reflect and pray about it, my mind is a thousand different places.

Oh how God had things to do in my heart.

He worked on my heart, opened up my closed eyes, and gave a new vision of who He is and the love He has for His creation. He cleared up a bunch of unresolved junk in my heart, and gave understanding where there was confusion. And He’s still working on me.

What shouts so loudly is the emptiness of life outside of Christ. How could I ever have lived apart from Him? People are longing for truth, searching for it, and are so close to finding it in Christ. But without Him, there is nothing. What broke my heart is that Muslims fear death, for there is no guarantee of salvation, no hope after death. It is a faith based on deeds, that one might possibly someday be good enough to earn paradise. For so many, there is bondage by fear of death, of spiritual powers, of the unknown. They have no idea that God loves them so dearly. They don’t know the immeasurable worth they have in the eyes of God. In their eyes, there is no intimate love of a Savior, only fear of a god that may at any moment decide to pour out his anger upon them.

But this fear is eclipsed by the perfect love of Christ.

 We have the promise of eternal fellowship with God after this life. How beautiful, so, so beautiful. Death is not an end, but a doorway into something so beautiful that we can look forward to with anticipation. We have the love and compassion of a mighty Father who doesn’t have to love us, yet chooses to embrace us. We have this freedom, this glorious, glorious freedom in Christ. We are freed from the chains that have bound us, from the sin that entangles, from death itself… we are free. We are free! We are free!

In contrast to all else, the Father’s love and grace shines so brightly.

We are free.

I had this dream and I haven’t been able to stop thinking about it all week. A dream where I am surrounded by the nations- Jews, Christians, Muslims, Buddhists, Atheists, everyone. All of us standing before the presence of the Father. Blinded by the brilliance of His beauty, overwhelmed by His immensity… in awe of Him we stand. His glory radiates and that which we were blind to, we now see so clearly. We see who He is. And there is silence. Then a symphony of praise rises to the throne of God, a mighty chorus of the nations shouting praises to God over and over and over again. With all the strength within them, each praises Him. All the nations cry out to God, worshipping Him.

May it be so.

“I count my life of no value to myself, so that I may finish my course and the ministry I received from the Lord Jesus, to testify to the gospel of God’s grace.”

