My favorite care package.

by Alexandra Rutkowski

Every day I go to the mailroom hoping for that little blue slip that I’ll trade in for a package. At last, it finally came! I got a pretty hefty package out of the blue from my mom and written all over the box was “I love you.” When I finally opened it, carefully removing the layers of beautiful tissue paper from the top, I was delighted to find the box was full of… pomegranates!!! Anyone who knows me at all knows that pomegranates are my absolute favorite, so when I saw about 10 in that box, I was overjoyed. I screamed out of excitement!! When I called my mom to thank her, she asked how I liked the eggs. The eggs? What eggs??

Turns out my mom wanted to make it extra special for me so she prepared 10 hard boiled eggs, wrapped them individually, placed them gently and neatly on the top of the fruit, and shipped the package out priority mail so I could enjoy them. Seriously, my mom is amazing. What she hadn’t expected is the number of times the package would be overturned in transit, haha. So after perusing the package, I found the eggs. All over. Taking out all the fruit, I found what was left over at the very bottom. I couldn’t stop laughing while I was cleaning the fruit. It was hilarious. I seriously have the best mom ever. This was one of the best things I’ve ever gotten. Just the care of my mom who wanted to make me smile. Even though it didn’t turn out quite as she expected… it definitely made me smile. This is definitely my favorite care package ever.

And I’m really looking forward to that basket of pomegranates on my desk.

