Day 39.

by Alexandra Rutkowski

Last morning. Hard to believe. In some ways, I feel like I came to Korea just yesterday. But in other ways, it feels like I’ve been here for an eternity. It’s definitely had it’s ups and downs, but I’m so glad I came. I know each member of this team was called by God to be here, for some reason, for some student… we’ll never know, but I love the fact that we don’t have to. The Father does. 

Our one day to ourselves this whole trip. Wow. Waking up last morning, Kelly and I had to try to maneuver the subway system over here- that was an adventure. We were the only Americans on the crowded subway… until the tourist with the Hawaiian shirt came on. Made us feel a lot better! We managed to meet up with Luke and Caleb and their friend Sky. Our day was filled with downtown Seoul, eating live octopus, and taking the cable car to Seoul Tower at night. By the end of the night, we were completely exhausted. The down part of the night was that since Luke and Caleb had to catch their ride back “home,” we missed the chance to say our goodbyes to the rest of the team. On the way to the guesthouse late last night, Kelly and I decided to be spontaneous and went to a nouriban. What a way to end the trip. The karaoke room was small, with dead flowers, couches, a big table, a disco ball. What a way to end it.

The trip isn’t all over yet. There’s still one more day. We’re leaving to the airport in a few minutes and are leaving tonight.

 

