Day 38.

by Alexandra Rutkowski

And hence begins the adventures of Kelly and Alexandra, alone in Seoul. Let’s see how many times I use the word sketchy. Thankfully, we were given one free day off from teaching, so we all split up and are in Seoul someplace. Right now, I’m probably in the sketchiest situation I’ve ever been. But you just learn to laugh at these things when they’re happening. We got in a taxi with a man who didn’t speak English and were dropped off thirty minutes later in the sketchiest alley, not knowing where we were supposed to go. That took a while, including the taxi driver asking every stranger that came his way. When we finally got the place, lugged ALL our luggage across the street, we got to the “guest house…” a ghetto, tall, narrow, sketchy building with a long tall set of stairs and a red flickering light. Taking all our luggage up five floors, in dresses, panting… yes, we are pros. When we got to the room, I was shocked. Sketchiest room. Ever. I’m pretty sure I’m taller that the length of this room. And that is not even an exaggeration. All it has is a bed. No room to even put my purse on the ground. Smallest room I’ve ever seen in my life. I’m having trouble sleeping though now. The walls are creaking and there’s a glowing light that’s filling the room. Somewhat shady. But at least we’re somewhere!

It’s just weird to think that we’re on our own. On the other side of the world.

I learned this week that I am most definitely not called to teach eight year old boys. For sure. I was so discouraged by the end of the week… I felt like I had failed as a teacher in every respect. And the feedback from our leader affirmed that. I was so disheartened. But when I looked in my purse, I found a small scribbled note and drawing from one of my students, thanking me. “I’m happy to meat you.” That one act of kindness redeemed the day. This was probably the most stressful week of my life. But I had a wonderful host family that I will never forget. I have so many memories with them I can’t even list them all. Their kindness, patience, and hospitality was beyond anything I could ever hope for in a host family. Someday I wish to bless someone like they did me.

It was my last day teaching today. Not sure how I feel about that. I was relieved to be done with this class, but overall? God’s really been working on my lately. This month has taught me a lot. It has taught me a lot about myself. I’ve seen myself at my worst, when things got the hardest, and it’s shown me things that I need to improve on. It’s shown me a glimpse into this kind of ministry and has shown me what I’m made of. It’s tested me and strengthened me in others. It’s just been intense. It’s be testing to the highest degree.

I hate goodbyes. So much.

