Day 3

by Alexandra Rutkowski

Day 3. July 15. There’s one part of the Korean church service that we must integrate into American ones, fast. The massage. When you turn to your neighbor to greet them, you make a chain massage in the pews. Heavenly. Hopefully all the churches do that. 

One of the best parts of this trip so far has been rooming with Kelly. And yes, she’s given me permission to say the following. I think it’s so awesome. So… I found out this trip that she’s got this unique talent of talking and doing things in her sleep. Frankly, it scared me half to death the first time. But now it’s just awesome. Last night while I was writing my Sunday sermon, she shot up in bed, “wide awake,” and started frantically searching through the covers, saying, “Where are they?? Where are they??” “Who?” “The kids! Where are the kids???? Where are youuu? Caleb says we need to get the kids!!” So she gets up, walks up to me and starts asking the same. Fun stuff.

We went to two Korean services today, and for one of them, I got to share my testimony and preach at the children’s service. They were awesome.

Caleb, Kelly, and I (on super short notice) sang in the main service. The church had about 300 people, and all of them were so kind. They had so much patience while I was trying to learn how to properly use chopsticks.

After saying our farewells (and having an opera concert in the car), Pastor Nam paid for our way to the airport. After about an hour ride, and a rendezvous with our team, we took another four hour bus ride to Jeonju, a city of about 600,000, and our home for the next few weeks.

We’ve settled into our dorms, have fried all of our converters, and are ready to start orientation in the morning. 

 

