by Alexandra Rutkowski

I feel like my dreams are in indicator of my spiritual progress. Ups and downs. I feel like it all comes through. I awoke from a vivid dream this morning, and I can’t seem to shake it off. But this time, it was different. But enough on that.

A lot of times, I have no idea what God wants me to do. I used to think of God’s will as something He would reveal to be someday all of a sudden. Like an epiphany. But it’s not like that. I can’t just wait around. Dr. Meyer said something that stuck with me. He said that simply not doing anything and waiting around for God’s will to magically be revealed “in the stars” is like that is like a blind man looking in a dark room for a black cat that isn’t there. God opens doors. Go through them. Use every moment to do something. I may not know what God is calling me to do with my life ultimately, but I do know that I can do something with my hands now while I’m trying to figure it out. Right now? I’m making art. As much art as my hands can produce. I want to donate it to Inspire so that the money can go to help human trafficking victims. I just want to do something good and not just waste time. 

One last thought before I turn in for the night- my mother. My mother has such a beautiful smile. Every night when she smiles, it warms me from head to toe and it sometimes takes my breathe away. A smile suits her so perfectly. She doesn’t need makeup or fancy clothes to make her lovely. Her smile does that all on it’s own. It’s contagious and absolutely perfect in every way! Someday, I want my children to be able to have someone to smile like that. But what my mother has, it’s a gift. When she smiles from joy, I feel like the whole world would change for the better if they simply saw it.

