by Alexandra Rutkowski

Oh happy day, happy day! Greek has gone away!

It is finished. Over and done with forever. I’ll never voluntarily parse another non-indicative verb in my life. But it does feel nice to be able to open to the New Testament and be able to read. Had a crazy moment last night (err… this morning) when I opened up to John’s epistle and was just reading it. From Greek? How insane.

I finally translated the book of 1 John from ancient Greek at 4 am (I can cross that off my bucket list!), and after that, was still not ready for that final. But still! No more Greek! Oh the world is finally bright and beautiful again. The birds… how they sing. They can sing again! (My expression of distain towards Greek is directed at the class, not the language, although parsing does makes me want to rip up a pillow.) I do feel blessed to have been given the opportunity to learn it, however. I’m beyond blessed here at Valley Forge in every way.

On another note, I submitted all my paperwork for South Korea. Teaching children English. 5 weeks. Hmmm.. I’m not sure how I feel about this. But hey, it’s an adventure, I love a good adventure, and the Lord’s the One leading every step of the way. Writing my own curriculum does terrify me a little bit. There’s a lot of prayer that’s gotta go into this. And trust. If it happens, it’s going to be stretching. Super stretching. But I love children, and I want to love on them and pour into them. I feel like I’m the one who’s blessed by working with kids. What joy they bring!

The future’s a big empty canvas right now. Well, God’s painting it but all I can see is the other side. I thought I’d know by now, 2 years into my college career, what path I would be taking. I guess that’s part of the adventure. And part of the journey of complete trust and surrender. Lord, keep teaching me that. I’m a slow learner. But I want to learn.

