by Alexandra Rutkowski

It’s one of my favorite verses. 1 Peter 3:4. And one I need to be reminded of.

This verse pretty much says it all. It’s all circled and highlighted in my Bible, with prayers written all around it. Another translation says that “you should clothe yourselves instead with the beauty that comes from within, the unfading beauty of a gentle and quiet spirit, which is so precious to God.” I’ve been reading this verse a lot lately, and it’s been imprinted on my heart. It was only recently that the end stuck out like it did.. it’s worth very much to God. My favorite translation says that it’s so precious to Him. It’s precious to Him! He delights in it! He loves it! We try so hard to gain approval from others and to be looked upon by others as beautiful and worthy, but THIS kind of beauty listed in the verse- the beauty within of a gentle, kind spirit- God LOVES it! It’s so much more precious to Him than any earthly beauty can be valued by a man. 

I want my beauty to come from here. I want this beauty. This beauty. This beauty. This unfading beauty.

I want the beauty that is “so precious” to God. That is “worth very much” in His eyes.

When people look at me, I want them to be able to see a steadfast woman of God with this precious, unfading beauty. I want God to delight in that. To bring Him pleasure with it. 

I have to remind myself of this every day. It’s an everyday journey, but this is the woman I want to be.

God, please mold me, teach me, and remind me. I love You Daddy.

