Father.

by Alexandra Rutkowski

A few days ago on Valentine’s Day, I spent the day in my room with my First Love… and Greek, which may very well be called my last love. When I stopped by the mailroom that day, I was shocked to find a package. And what was inside? Chocolates, a teddy bear, and a dozen red roses in a vase with a note from my father. Something so simple, yet I cried when I opened it. I cried from joy. My daddy is one person who can always make me feel like a princess. 

If anyone has ever met my father, they’d know that he’s both loving and generous. He has a heart that always gives selflessly to others, never asking for anything in return. He’s the kind of father who will surprise me with a bouquet of roses for no other reason other than that he loves me. God, give me that kind of love for those around me. That selfless love. Your love. I want to be able to share that with others.

I know that I am blessed beyond belief to have two fathers who love me this way, who love upon me simple because they love me… especially when I am so undeserving of it. I can’t find words to describe my earthly father’s love. How much more is our Heavenly Father’s love for his children?

It is beyond measure. Beyond expression. Beyond comprehension. It overwhelms me.

How absolutely beautiful it is.

Lord, You always make me feel like a princess.

