Day 11: Begins and Ends with Water.

by Alexandra Rutkowski

The day began and ended with water. In it and on it. We started the morning with a hike down the mountain into the Yehudiya Falls. Actually, only 13 of us did that one- we had the option of that intense one or an easier one. Pssh, I love me a challege. The way down… wow. The scenery was amazing. I just expected to see Legolas, Aragorn, and Gimli run across the mountain across from me. So much so that I started to sing the Lord of the Rings theme song. No one got it.

When we got to the waterfall, it took me a while to jump in (even though we weren’t supposed to). But that doesn’t matter. What matters is I did it. Three times. 

Going back up the mountain was absolutely brutal. It took us a long long time. But the view was incredible. The hike took such a long time that by the time we arrived back at the Kibbutz, we only had a few moments for our next stop: a boat ride on the Sea of Galilee.

Now, that was something I can’t even try to explain. It was just so surreal. After taking all those cliche pictures by the water (yes, the famous Titanic pose is there too), we just had an incredible time of worship on the water. It was strange to look at the water, which was beautiful without compare, and know that this is where my Savior walked. We just lifted up worship to the Lord at that spot. And it was absolutely indescribable.

Upon returning to the hotel and eating a light dinner, I challenged our guide, Ilan, to a game of ping-pong. He slaughtered me. And how could we forget our sad attempt at Israeli karaoke in the kibbutz! What a night. It was a relaxing day, all things considered, and I’m looking forward to what God has in store for us tomorrow. We’ll be volunteering at a soup kitchen here in Israel and I believe our next stop is Hebron. Shalom!

Alexandra

